SIGTERMer’s Whim-Based-Log: Git on the FTDI wave…

by

Before I start, an announcement that should make any electronics enthusiast explode with joy.
Any person who has dealt with a computer related project would tell you how incredibly helpful and *indispensable* the parallel port can be. It has this great reputation due to the fact that it’s is extremely easy to deal with both in circuits (IO lines can be connected directly to 74{LS}* – TTL compatible) and programming.
The trusty parallel, however, has been in a recession ever since the USB came out. Today, it’s difficult to find a PC motherboard with an parallel port, and you can definitely forget about laptops with the PP.

Many USB solutions exist, but nearly none are as practical and universal as the good-old PP. and until recently, my only option was my old Compaq Armada PP2060.

It turns out that FTDI (link) manufactures usb-serial converters which can be operated in bit-bang mode! this means that you can get up to 8 general purpose I/O lines. The main selling points for me was that it’s 3.95$ (link), there is a breakout board (link), and most importantly, there is a library for it for linux!
expect a detailed tutorial in the near future:mrgreen:

Now on to whats been happening this past week:

git


The comes a point in every programmer’s life when he/she realizes that he/she needs some sort of source code management. I was no exception. So I started looking for scm software. while searching, I came across git. I read a little about it and had the false assumption that it’s main feature was that Torvalds wrote it, which is not much of a reason for anything. so I decided on svn. recently, I came across a youtube video in which Linus talked about git (link). It opened my eyes on several issues with svn that i wasn’t aware of. he also mentioned some of the futures that got me searching for a SCM system in the first place. It seems that i might be switching to git soon! of course, that is if I ever get around to actually learning it 🙄 never mind, switched already🙂
for more information, see the video (link) and vist git (link).

Google Wave


Wave is interesting to say the least. a couple of days ago, I was invited by anxious.nut to google wave. To be honest, a did not expect this. after all, I wasn’t invited to gmail when it was invitation only -even though one person offered to invite me verbally, and I certainly didn’t do anything to get invited to this one. but i guess it helps to know a hardcore geek.
Anyways, The interface is designed in a simplistic manner; you get for boxes for wave lists, and for the wave itself. plus two more for contacts and navigation. Waves can be edited simultaneously (like google docs) and can be viewed at deferent point in its history (can single-step from the wave’s start up to its current state). I suppose it has its uses.
Anyways, being who we are (myself, and Anxious), we decided to test if it could be used for programming (you know, real time collaboration). suffice to say, it’s not for code development. it would of been fun if more people joined in though. my googlewave id is SIGTERMer [at] googlewave [dot] com.

A Pleasant Surprise…

It turns out that we have a close ubuntu repository here in Kuwait! It’s provided by qualtynet (link) and is synced every 4 hours. I haven’t switch repos yet but if it’s faster, and everything checks out, I will.
Thanks Qualtynet🙂

link dump

Last but not least, some of the more interesting sites I’ve stumbled across this week
– Dirty Coding Tricks (link)

Until next time,
SIGTERMer

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

